World Heritage

World Heritage Convention

The world’s heritage is considered to be the common property of all of humanity, and therefore protecting it is a responsibility shared by all countries of the world.  The World Heritage Convention is a global decision to promote the treasuring and preservation of unique cultural and natural heritage for future generations.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO approved the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage in 1972.

Increases respect and disseminates information

The aim of the World Heritage Convention is to increase respect for the unique heritage of various nations and disseminate information concerning it. International co-operation based on the Convention allows saving, treasuring and restoring universally significant cultural and natural heritage.

States that have ratified the Convention can propose sites to be included on the list of World Heritage Sites. The World Heritage Committee, which is composed of 21 state parties to the Convention, decides on the sites on the list. The Committee monitors the state of the World Heritage Sites and directs the usage of the assets in the World Heritage Fund.

193 countries

193 countries have ratified the World Heritage Convention. Finland ratified the Convention in 1987.